Are you a farmer or landowner in the Squaw Creek Watershed interested in using conservation practices on your land? You have come to the right place! Cost-share programming is available through Prairie Rivers of Iowa for no-till, buffer strips, cover crops, extended crop rotations, bioreactors, and perennial plantings.

Farmers and landowners who are a first-time user of the conservation practice, have not used the practice for at least two years on planted acres, or are installing an additional structural practice are eligible for our cost-share program. We know that no farm field is the same, and so we will find the conservation practices that work best for your land.   

Cost-share for no-till is $10/acre and $25/acre for cover crops. Other practices include: extended crop rotations, saturated buffers, bioreactors, buffer strips, and perennial plantings at50% cost-share. More information is available on each of the practices upon request via our website or a call to the Prairie Rivers of Iowa office (515-232-0048).

We now have an online form available for farmers and landowners to request financial and technical assistance. This form is available here.

Once you have requested assistance for one of the practices, Hanna Bates, Watershed Coordinator for Prairie Rivers of Iowa, will contact you to get the planning process started. Hanna will assist you along the way with the application, planning, and installation of a conservation practice you are interested in

Please contact Hanna Bates ( for further information.

The Squaw Creek Watershed is a Water Quality Initiative demonstration project funded by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship. Partner organizations on the project include Squaw Creek Watershed Coalition, the Squaw Creek Watershed Management Authority, Story County Board of Supervisors, Boone County Board of Supervisors, Story County Soil and Water Conservation District, Boone County Soil and Water Conservation District, Hamilton County Soil and Water Conservation District, City of Ames, Story County Conservation Board, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Soybean Association, Heartland Cooperative, Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance, Technical Service Provider Network, Emmons & Olivier, DuPont Pioneer, City of Gilbert, City of Stanhope, City of Stratford,  and Iowa State University Water and Climate Change Program.